Non-League Club Directory Logo

Thatcham Town

Altrincham Club Crest image

There is no doubt that Thatcham Town are a progressive club. Situated between Reading and Newbury, the small town have always been in reach of a selection of local football leagues and after their formation in 1895, they played locally until joining The Hellenic League, their first senior competition, in 1974.

Then in six seasons, the club played in four different leagues, joining The Athenian League in 1982, moved on in 1984 to The London Spartan League as the Athenian competition faded, then two years later, were among the founder members of The Wessex League.

From 1986 ‘The Kingfishers’ were a consistent top ten club and in 1995-1996 actually won the championship, but the club’s facilities were not considered good enough for promotion and another ten years in The Wessex competition came to an end in 2006 when, as runners-up, they won a place in The Southern League Division One South West.

Having consolidated in the South West section, Thatcham moved across to Division One Central for a season before returning to the West, hoping for another promotion and the chance to play in Southern Premier football for the first time.


Club Factfile

Waterside Park, Crookham Hill, Thatcham, Berks RG19 4PA
01635 862 016
A4 Thatcham at Sony roundabout turn into Pipers Way. At next roundabout turn left, crossing over the railway line. Entrance to Waterside Park 300 metres on left-hand side.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Hellenic League Division One12th
1979-1980Hellenic League Division One9th
1980-1981Hellenic League Division One8th
1981-1982Hellenic League Division One11th
1982-1983Athenian League18thBrian Lawrence
1983-1984Athenian League17thBrian Lawrence
1984-1985London Spartan League4thBrian Lawrence
1985-1986London Spartan League4thBrian Lawrence
1986-1987Wessex Football League6thBrian Lawrence
1987-1988Wessex Football League11thRichard Bayliss
1988-1989Wessex Football League4thRichard Bayliss
1989-1990Wessex Football League7thRichard Bayliss
1990-1991Wessex Football League6thDave Cox
1991-1992Wessex Football League3rdDave Cox
1992-1993Wessex Football League4thDes McMahon
1993-1994Wessex Football League4thDes McMahon
1994-1995Wessex Football League3rdDes McMahon
 1995-1996Wessex Football League1stJim Greenwood
1996-1997Wessex Football League3rdJackie Stuart
1997-1998Wessex Football League10thJackie Stuart
1998-1999Wessex Football League2ndJackie Stuart
1999-2000Wessex Football League13thJackie Stuart
2000-2001Wessex Football League6thNeil Baker
2001-2002Wessex Football League12thNeil Baker
2002-2003Wessex Football League9thNeil Baker/Steve Melledew
2003-2004Wessex Football League10thSteve Melledew
2004-2005Wessex Football League3rdJason Braidwood
2005-2006Wessex Football League2ndJason Bradwood
2006-2007Southern League Division One South West6thJason Bradwood
2007-2008Southern League Division One South West15thJohn Goddard & Les Tillen
2008-2009Southern League Division One South West6thGary Ackling
2009-2010Southern League Division One South West12thGary Ackling
2010-2011Southern League Division One South West5thColin Millard
2011-20122011-2012Southern League Division One South West8thGary Ackling
2012-2013Southern League Division One South Central17thNeville Roach
2013-2014Southern League Division One South West

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!