Non-League Club Directory Logo


Currently Playing In:

Isthmian League Premier Division


A club situated in Grays in Essex was known as Purfleet until 2002. The football club had originally been formed in 1985 and had competed initially in The Essex Senior League from 1985-1989.

The club’s committee have shown faith in their selected managers with Brian Reed
(3 years), Gary Calder (6 years), Colin McBride (9 years) and Hakan Hayrettin (5years) all contributing to the club’s history which has mainly centered around their Isthmian League membership.

The club changed its name to Thurrock in 2002 and promotion into the newly formed Conference South was earned in 2004. Life at this level has not been easy for ‘Fleet’ and after brave battles for survival, relegation could not be avoided in 2012 so the club returned to the Isthmian League.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Purfleet until 2003
South Way, Ship Lane, Grays, Essex RM19 1YN
01708 865 492
Record Attendance:
2572 v West Ham United Friendly 1998
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Essex Senior Cup 2005-2006

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1986-1987Essex Senior League3rdTommy Smith
1987-1988Essex Senior League1stBrian Reed
1988-1989Isthmian Division Two North3rdBrian Reed
1989-1990Isthmian Division One21stBrian Reed
1990-1991Isthmian Division Two North7thFrank Banks
1991-1992Isthmian Division Two1stGary Calder
1992-1993Isthmian Division One4thGary Calder
1993-1994Isthmian Division One2ndGary Calder
1994-1995Isthmian Premier Division16thGary Calder
1995-1996Isthmian Premier Division16thGary Calder
1996-1997Isthmian Premier Division8thGary Calder
1997-1998Isthmian Premier Division10thColin McBride
1998-1999Isthmian Premier Division4thColin McBride
1999-2000Isthmian Premier Division4thColin McBride
2000-2001Isthmian Premier Division11thColin McBride
2001-2002Isthmian Premier Division5thColin McBride
As Thurrock FC
2002-2003Isthmian Premier Division8thColin McBride
2003-2004Isthmian Premier Division3rdColin McBride
2004-2005Conference South3rdColin McBride
2005-2006Conference South10thColin McBride
2006-2007Blue Square South18thHakan Hayrettin
2007-2008Blue Square South12thHakan Hayrettin
2008-2009Blue Square South20thHakan Hayrettin
2009-2010Blue Square South10thHakan Hayrettin
2010-2011Blue Square South20thHakan Hayrettin
2011-2012Blue Square South22ndRobbie Garvey
2012-2013Isthmian League Premier Division19thMark Stimson
2013-2014Isthmian League Premier Division

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!