Non-League Club Directory Logo

Tiverton Town

Currently Playing In:

Southern League Division One South West


Formed in 1920 and after competing in The East Devon League (1926-1931), North Devon League (1931-1932) and The Exeter & District League (1932-1971), Tiverton Town joined the Devon & Exeter League for one season before being accepted by The Western League for the 1973-1974 campaign.

After featuring in mid table consistently, ‘Tivvy’ appeared to be slipping behind their Western league rivals in the eighties and they ended up with only Ottery St Mary below them at the end of their 1983-1984 season. Then in 1984-1985, as a ’pure amateur’ club, they struggled again and their future was seriously in doubt.

Changes on and off the field with ground improvements and steady team strengthening under the guidance of manager John Owen,saw the club finish in third place by 1988.  A new board of directors and Martyn Rogers helping as assistant manager and commercial manager, created a club which attracted the quality local players and from 1988 to 2003 the club never finished below sixth place.

After two FA Vase Final triumphs in three visits to Wembley, a place in the Southern League was claimed in 1999 and two seasons later, ‘Tivvy’ were challenging at the top of the Premier Division. Martyn Rogers and a hardworking and understanding committee had masterminded a wonderful period that will always be remembered in the club’s history.

Since the golden years the club has dropped back to Division One South West but one suspects the club will be rebuilding to return to the Premier Division at least!


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Ladysmead, Bolham Road, Tiverton, Devon EX16 6SG
01884 252 397
M5 junction 27, follow A 361 to second exit to Tiverton and at roundabout turn left. Continue for about 400 yards, crossing roundabout until reaching mini roundabout. Carry on straight across and ground is on the right.
Record Attendance:
3,000 v Leyton Orient FA Cup 1st Round 1994-1995

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Western League Premier Division5thMike Howe
1979-1980Western League Premier Division15thMike Howe
1980-1981Western League Premier Division20thMike Howe
1981-1982Western League Divison One10thMike Southcote
1982-1983Western League Divison One18thMike Southcote
1983-1984Western League Divison One21stMike Southcote
1984-1985Western League Divison One17thJohn Owen
1985-1986Western League Divison One13thJohn Owen
1986-1987Western League Divison One15thJohn Owen
1987-1988Western League Divison One3rdJohn Owen
1988-1989Western League Divison One2ndJohn Owen
1989-1990Western League Premier Division4thJohn Owen
1990-1991Western League Premier Division4thJohn Owen
1991-1992Western League Premier Division3rdJohn Owen
1992-1993Western League Premier Division2ndJohn Owen
 1993-1994Western League Premier Division1stMartyn Rogers
 1994-1995Western League Premier Division1stMartyn Rogers
1995-1996Western League Premier Division2ndMartyn Rogers
 1996-1997Western League Premier Division1stMartyn Rogers
 1997-1998Western League Premier Division1stMartyn Rogers
1998-1999Western League Premier Division2ndMartyn Rogers
1999-2000Southern League Western Division4thMartyn Rogers
2000-2001Southern League Western Division2ndMartyn Rogers
2001-2002Southern League Premier Division6thMartyn Rogers
2002-2003Southern League Premier Division4thMartyn Rogers
2003-2004Southern League Premier Division15thMartyn Rogers
2004-2005Southern League Premier Division8thMartyn Rogers
2005-2006Southern League Premier Division12thMartyn Rogers
2006-2007Southern League Premier Division15thMartyn Rogers
2007-2008Southern League Premier Division17thMartyn Rogers
2008-2009Southern League Premier Division12thMartyn Rogers
2009-2010Southern League Premier Division19thMartyn Rogers
2010-2011Southern League Premier Division20thChris Vinniecombe
2011-2012Southern League Division One SW9thMark Saunders
2012-2013Southern League Division One SW16thMark Saunders, John Clarkson
2013-2014Southern League Division One SW3rdJohn Clarkson
2014-72015Southern League Division One SWMartyn Rogers

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!