Non-League Club Directory Logo

Tooting and Mitcham United

Currently Playing In:

Isthmian Division One South

Altrincham Club Crest image

Two South London Clubs, Tooting Town and Mitcham Wanderers amalgamated in 1932 and after developing in the London League,  Tooting Mitcham United joined The Athenian League and were soon challenging the best amateur clubs as champions in 1950 and 1955.

This led to acceptance by the Isthmian League in 1956 and the club’s best ever season was celebtrated in their third campaign when they won The Isthmian League title, The London Senior Cup, The Surrey Senior Cup and were Finalists in The London Challenge Cup and The London Charity Cup.

‘The Terrors’ have been associated with the Isthmian League for the last 57 years and since the formation of two and three divisions, have regularly moved up an down with the hope they will once again enjoy a period amongst the very top non-league clubs.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Tooting Town (Founded in 1887) and Mitcham Wanderers (1912) merged in 1932 to form Tooting & Mitcham FC.
Imperial Fields, Bishopsford Road, Morden, Surrey SM4 6BF
020 8685 6193
M25 junction 8, take the A217 northbound, this goes through Tadworth and Cheam. It's dual carriageway most of the way, although long stretches have a 40mph speed limit. This leads to a major roundabout with lights (Rose Hill). Take the third exit (Mitcham A217), this is Bishopsford Road and the ground is a mile further on. Go through two sets of lights, the road dips, and the entrance is on the right opposite a petrol station. From the South: M25 junction 7, M23 then A23 northbound. Turn left onto the A237 after passing under a railway bridge at Coulsdon South station. Through Hackbridge and Beddington, then turn left onto the A239. Turn left again at lights by Mitcham Cricket Green into the A217, the ground is 800 yards on the left.
Record Attendance:
17,500 v Queens Park Rangers - FA Cup 2nd Round 1956-57 (At Sandy Lane)
Most Recent Senior Honour:
London Senior Cup 2007-08

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Isthmian League Premier Division12thJack Payne
1979-1980Isthmian League Premier Division6thJack Payne
1980-1981Isthmian League Premier Division12thJack Payne
1981-1982Isthmian League Premier Division7thJack Payne
1982-1983Isthmian League Premier Division9thDerek Cook
1983-1984Isthmian League Premier Division21stJohn Biddle
1984-1985Isthmian League Premier Division10thDave Juneman/ & Bill Edwards
1985-1986Isthmian League Premier Division12thBill Edwards
1986-1987Isthmian League Premier Division19thDave Donaldson
1987-1988Isthmian League Premier Division11thBarry Nevill
1988-1989Isthmian League Premier Division21stBarry Nevill
1989-1990Isthmian League Division One12thBob Langford
1990-1991Isthmian League Division One6thBob Langford
1991-1992Isthmian League Division One7thBob Langford
1992-1993Isthmian League Division One7thTrevor Ford
1993-1994Isthmian League Division One4thTrevor Ford
1994-1995Isthmian League Division One8thTrevor Ford
1995-1996Isthmian League Division One19thTrevor Ford
1996-1997Isthmian League Division One22ndJohn Langford
1997-1998Isthmian League Division Two11thJimmy Bolton
1998-1999Isthmian League Division Two8thJimmy Bolton/ Keith Boanes
1999-2000Isthmian League Division Two11thKeith Boanes
 2000-2001Isthmian League Division Two1stKeith Boanes
2001-2002Isthmian League Division One12thKeith Boanes & Ian Hazell
2002-2003Isthmian League Division One11th Ian Hazell/ Richard Cadette
2003-2004Isthmian League Division One South11thRichard Cadette
2004-2005Isthmian League Division One8thRichard Cadette
2005-2006Isthmian League Division One6thRichard Cadette
2006-2007Isthmian League Division One South2ndBilly Smith
2008-2009Isthmian League Division One South2ndBilly Smith
2008-2009Isthmian League Premier Division9thBilly Smith
2009-2010Isthmian League Premier Division12thBilly Smith
2010-2011Isthmian League Premier Division14thMark Beard
2011-2012Isthmian League Premier Division21stMark Beard
2012-2013Isthmian League Division One South16thRoberto Forzoni
2013-2014Isthmian League Division One South11thCraig Tanner

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!