Non-League Club Directory Logo

Truro City

Altrincham Club Crest image

Since joining The Western League in 2004, Truro City have enjoyed a glorious period of their history which began in 1889.

Originally in the Cornwall County League then The Plymouth & District League,Truro City moved up to The South Western League and won the title on five occasions.

Kevin Healey, a local property developer, who had moved West from the home counties, has been the driving force behind the club’s dramatic rise up the football ‘pyramid’. The Western League Division One title was won in 2006-2007 in the same season as Truro brought The F.A.Vase back from Wembley.

With the city certainly hit by football fever, promotion from The Western League Premier Division came the following campaign and then, to make it three consecutive League titles, Truro City won the championship of the Southern League Division One South & West.

A comparatively quiet season followed, when a mid table position was achieved in the Southern Premier, but the squad was strengthened and Truro City became Southern League Champions in 2011, moving up to The Blue Square South amidst great excitement.

Five promotions, including four Championships had seen the Cornish club compete in six different divisions in seven seasons. Sadly, off field problems brought the clubs progress to an awkward halt and with difficult situations on and off the field, an unhappy chapter was added to a very special football story and Truro City were relegated and faced a very big challenge to sort out its problems.


Club Factfile

Treyew Road, Truro, Cornwall TR1 2TH
01872 225 400 / 278 853
On arriving at Exeter, leave the M5 at junction 31 and join the A30. Travel via Okehampton, Launceston, and Bodmin.. At the end of the dual carriageway (windmills on right hand side) take left hand turning signposted Truro. After approximately 7 miles turn right at traffic lights, travel downhill crossing over three roundabouts, following signs for Redruth. Approximately 500 metres after third roundabout signed 'Arch Hill', ground is situated on left hand side.

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979South Western League8th
1979-1980South Western League12th
1980-1981South Western League13th
1981-1982South Western League18th
1982-1983South Western League20th
1983-1984South Western League13th
1984-1985South Western League8th
1985-1986South Western League6th
1986-1987South Western League11th
1987-1988South Western League8th
1988-1989South Western League6th
1989-1990South Western League10th
1990-1991South Western League7thSteve Massey
1991-1992South Western League4thSteve Massey
 1992-1993South Western League1stSteve Massey
1993-1994South Western League3rdSteve Massey
1994-1995South Western League3rdSteve Massey
 1995-1996South Western League1stLeigh Cooper
1996-1997South Western League2ndLeigh Cooper
 1997-1998South Western League1stLeigh Cooper
1998-1999South Western League3rdGraham Kirkup
1999-2000South Western League12thChris Webb
2000-2001South Western League14thChris Webb
2001-2002South Western League18thChris Webb
2002-2003South Western League16thRobbie Black
2003-2004South Western League15thRobbie Black
2004-2005South Western League6th
2005-2006South Western League2nd
 2006-2007Western League Division One1stDave Leonard
 2007-2008Western League Premier Division1stSean McCarthy
 2008-2009Southern League Division One South & West1stSean McCarthy
2009-2010Southern League Premier Division11thSteve Thompson
 2010-2011Southern League Premier Division1stLee Hodges
2011-2012Conference South14thLee Hodges
2012-2013Conference South22ndLee Hodges
2013-2014Southern League Premier Division17thSteve Tully

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!