Non-League Club Directory Logo

Tunbridge Wells

Currently Playing In:

Kent League Premier Division


A well established Kent club, formed in 1886 and now a long serving member of the Kent League. After competing in the South Eastern and Southern Amateur Leagues, Tunbridge Wells were invited to join The Isthmian league in 1911.

Sadly, after two disappointing seasons ‘The Wells’  moved down to The Spartan League where, after competing for one season, the club disbanded during the First World War.

The modern Tunbridge Wells Football Club is very well respected in The Kent League, where they won the championship in 1985. ‘They have also been featured in historical football statistics as they shared the longest penalty shoot out when beating Littlehampton Town 16-15 after 40 penalty kicks at the end of an FA Cup Preliminary Round

However, the wonderful achievement of reaching the 2013 FA Challenge Vase Final at Wembley will undoubtedly by considered the highlight of the club’s history and will be celebrated by the town and everyone connected with the club, which has been seen to steadily improve for five seasons under the guidance of manager Martin Larkin.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Culverden Stadium, Culverden Down, Tunbridge Wells TN4 9SG
01892 520 517
Record Attendance:
967 v Maidstone United FA Cup 1969
Most Recent Senior Honour:
FA Vase Finalists at Wembley 2013

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Kent League3rd
1978-1979Kent League7th
1979-1980Kent League8th
1980-1981Kent League9th
1981-1982Kent League13th
1982-1983Kent League5th
1983-1984Kent League5th
 1984-1985Kent League1st
1985-1986Kent League5thMark Higgs
1986-1987Kent League7thMark Higgs
1987-1988Kent League9thMark Higgs
1988-1989Kent League11thMark Higgs
1989-1990Kent League7thMark Higgs
1990-1991Kent League11thMark Higgs
1991-1992Kent League13thMark Higgs
1992-1993Kent League14thMark Higgs
1993-1994Kent League16thMark Higgs
1994-1995Kent League14thMark Higgs
1995-1996Kent League15thMark Higgs
1996-1997Kent League20thRob Dobereiner
1997-1998Kent League11thBill Tucker
1998-1999Kent League19thBill Tucker
1999-2000Kent League14thM.McKeown
2000-2001Kent League6thSteve Clark
2001-2002Kent League8thSteve Clark
2002-2003Kent League12thSteve Clark
2003-2004Kent League14thSteve Clark
2004-2005Kent League7thKevin Metcalfe
2005-2006Kent League10thKevin Metcalfe
2006-2007Kent League15thKevin Metcalfe
2007-2008Kent League10thMike Robbins
2008-2009Kent League10thMike Robbins
2009-2010Kent League7thMartin Larkin
2010-2011Kent League6thMartin Larkin
2011-2012Kent League5thMartin Larkin
2012-2013Kent League7thMartin Larkin
2013-2014Southern Co East Football League4thMartin Larkin

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!