Non-League Club Directory Logo

Walton and Hersham

Altrincham Club Crest image

After the merger of Walton FC and Hersham FC in 1945, Walton & Hersham FC worked their way through The Surrey Senior, Corinthian and Athenian Leagues before joining The Isthmian League, where they are still competing in Division One South.

Their highest Isthmian position was achieved in their second year of membership in 1972-1973, when there was only one Isthmian Division but it included the very best amateur players in the South of England.

The Surrey club had enjoyed the early seventies as one of the leading amateur sides in the country and a Wembley victory in the FA Amateur Cup really hit the headlines in 1973. The club have a long list of well known managers have who provided three spells for ‘The Swans’ in The Premier Division, since their first promotion in 1994, and are considered one of non-league football’s ‘sleeping giants’.


Club Factfile

Sports Ground, Stompond Lane, Walton-on-Thames KT12 1HF
01932 245 263
From Walton Bridge go over and along New Zealand Avenue, down one way street and up A244 Hersham Road. Ground is second on the right.

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Isthmian League Division One16thBrian Hall
1979-1980Isthmian League Division One11thBrian Hall
1980-1981Isthmian League Division One13thGeorge Talbot
1981-1982Isthmian League Division One18thJohn Martin
1982-1983Isthmian League Division One8thGraham Cooper
1983-1984Isthmian League Division One17thGraham Cooper
1984-1985Isthmian League Division One12thBilly Salkeld
1985-1986Isthmian League Division One10thGraham Cooper
1986-1987Isthmian League Division One18thBilly Millar
1987-1988Isthmian League Division One8thLarry Pritchard
1988-1989Isthmian League Division One7thLarry Pritchard
1989-1990Isthmian League Division One5thLarry Pritchard
1990-1991Isthmian League Division One7thD.Collyer
1991-1992Isthmian League Division One9thS.Rogers
1992-1993Isthmian League Division One10thC.Wainwright
1993-1994Isthmian League Division One3rdNeil Price
1994-1995Isthmian League Premier Division14thNeil Price
1995-1996Isthmian League Premier Division21stChris McLaren
1996-1997Isthmian League Division One3rdDave Russell/ Laurie Craker
1997-1998Isthmian League Premier Division9thLaurie Craker
1998-1999Isthmian League Premier Division18thLaurie Craker
1999-2000Isthmian League Premier Division22ndPaul Holden
2000-2001Isthmian League Division One17thKevin Hinge
2001-2002Isthmian League Division One13thMatt Alexander
2002-2003Isthmian League Division One South7thMatt Alexander
2003-2004Isthmian League Division One South9thLaurance Batty/Ian Hazel
2004-2005Isthmian League Division One2ndIan Hazel
2005-2006Isthmian League Premier Division9thIan Hazel
2006-2007Isthmian League Premier Division21st Alan Dowson
2007-2008Isthmian League Division One South10th Les Cleeveley
2008-2009Isthmian League Division One South14thJohn Morris
2009-2010Isthmian League Division One South8thJohn Crumplin
2010-2011Isthmian League Division One South6thJohn Crumplin
2011-2012Isthmian League Division One South11thChuck Martini
2012-2013Isthmian League Division One South18thChuck Martini
2013-2014Isthmian League Division One South

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!