Non-League Club Directory Logo

Wantage Town

Currently Playing In:

Hellenic League Premier Division


A well established club near the Oxfordshire and Berkshire border that was formed in 1892 and developed in the Swindon & District, North Berkshire and Reading & District Leagues.

In 1956 Wantage Town joined the progressive Hellenic League where they have been a member ever since in their Alfredian Park ground.

Most of the club’s Hellenic history has been enjoyed in the Premier Division, although relegation has taken the club down to the first Division on four occasions in the last thirty years, but one was the 1994 demotion because the club’s lack of floodlights.

‘The Alfredians’ have only once remained in The Hellenic First Division more than one season, and that was when they gained promotion after two seasons between 1994-1996. The 2010-2011 campaign saw Wantage Town take the Hellenic Championship, but much to the frustration of their supporters, the club was prevented from moving up to Southern League Football as their ground wasn’t enclosed effectively enough to prevent spectators from entering the ground without paying.

With experienced manager Gary Ackling now in charge and the club determined to gain promotion, Wantage Town will be expected to be challenging for the Hellenic title once again.


Club Factfile

Alfredian Park, Manor Road, Wantage OX12 8DW
01235 764 781
Record Attendance:
550 v Oxford United 2003
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Hellenic League Premier Division 2010-2011

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1979-1980Hellenic League Dvision One6th
1980-1981Hellenic League Division One1st
 1981-1982Hellenic League Premier Division3rd
1982-1983Hellenic League Premier Division8th
1983-1984Hellenic League Premier Division15th
1984-1985Hellenic League Premier Division7thGraham Nash + Chris Daly
1985-1986Hellenic League Premier Division6thClive Corrigan
1986-1987Hellenic League Premier Division18th Graham Nash
1987-1988Hellenic League Division One2ndClive Corrigan
1988-1989Hellenic League Premier Division12thDavid Watts + G.Fell
1989-1990Hellenic League Premier Division14thDavid Watts
1990-1991Hellenic League Premier Division18th M.Pethick
1991-1992Hellenic League Division One2ndGary Ackling
1992-1993Hellenic League Premier Division16thGary Ackling
1993-1994Hellenic League Premier Division4thGary Ackling
1994-1995Hellenic League Division One7thGary Ackling
1995-1996Hellenic League Division One2ndDerek Bint
1996-1997Hellenic League Premier Division14thDerek Bint
1997-1998Hellenic League Premier Division11thDerek Bint
1998-1999Hellenic League Premier Division17thDerek Bint
1999-2000Hellenic League Premier Division12thStuart Peace
2000-2001Hellenic League Premier Division16thStuart Peace
2001-2002Hellenic League Premier Division12thStuart Peace
2002-2003Hellenic League Premier Division21stStuart Peace
 2003-2004Hellenic League Division One East1stAndy Lyne
2004-2005Hellenic League Premier Division10thAndy Lyne
2005-2006Hellenic League Premier Division9thRichard Bourne
2006-2007Hellenic League Premier Division11thRichard Bourne
2007-2008Hellenic League Premier Division12thRichard Bourne
2008-2009Hellenic League Premier Division11thRichard Bourne
2009-2010Hellenic League Premier Division5thRichard Bourne
 2010-2011Hellenic League Premier Division1stAndy Wallbridge
2011-2012Hellenic League Premier Division12thAndy Wallbridge
2012-2013Hellenic League Premier Division2ndAndy Wallbridge
2013-2014Hellenic League Premier DivisionGary Ackling

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!