Non-League Club Directory Logo

Warrington Town

Altrincham Club Crest image

Formed after the Second World War in 1948, Warrington Town played their first competitive football in The Warrington District League but after just three years moved up to The Mid Cheshire competition.

The club developed for 25 years and were then accepted in the Cheshire County League where they remained until the Formation of the North West Counties League in 1982, but only qualified for a place in the new third Division.

Progress was prompt however and under the guidance of manager Taylor, ’The Town’ moved up two divisions and won the Championship of the North West Counties First Division in 1990. This brought seven years in the Northern Premier League, five of which saw Warrington settle as a top seven club, but after two disappointing campaigns, relegation came in 1997.

Seven seasons back with the North West Counties were halted with a return to the NPL’s First Division in 2004 and Warrington Town are now established in Division One North.


Club Factfile

Cantilever Park, Common Lane, Latchford, Warrington WA4 2RS
01925 653 044
From M62 Junction 9 Warrington Town Centre: Travel 1 mile south on A49, turn left at traffic lights into Loushers Lane, ground ½ mile on right hand side. From M6 North or South Junction 20: Follow A50 (Warrington signs) for 2 miles, cross Latchford Swingbridge, turn immediate left into Station Road, ground on left.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Mid Cheshire Football League
1978-1979Cheshire County League Second Division14thS.Farmer
1979-1980 Cheshire County League Second Division15th
1980-1981Cheshire County League Second Division13th
1981-1982Cheshire County League Second Division8th
1982-1983North West Counties Division Three2nd
1983-1984North West Counties Division Two4thD.Taylor
1984-1985North West Counties Division Two3rdD.Taylor
1985-1986North West Counties Division Two4thD.Taylor
1986-1987North West Counties Division Two2ndD.Taylor
1987-1988North West Counties Division One8thD.Taylor
1988-1989North West Counties Division One6thD.Taylor
 1989-1990North West Counties Division One1stD.Taylor
1990-1991Northern Premier League First Division7thD.Brownbill
1991-1992Northern Premier League First Division7thD.Brownbill
1992-1993Northern Premier League First Division5thD.Brownbill
1993-1994Northern Premier League First Division7thD.Brownbill
1994-1995Northern Premier League First Division3rdD.Brownbill
1995-1996Northern Premier League First Division13thTommy Lawson
1996-1997Northern Premier League First Division21stAlan Lord
1997-1998North West Counties Division One19thAlan Lord
1998-1999North West Counties Division Two4thAlan Lord
1999-2000North West Counties Division Two9thAlan Lord
 2000-2001North West Counties Division Two1stAlan Lord
2001-2002North West Counties Division One11thAlan Lord
2002-2003North West Counties Division One16thAlan Blair
2003-2004North West Counties Division One5thDerek Brownbill & Glenn Walker
2004-2005Northern Premier League First Division20thGlenn Walker
2005-2006Northern Premier League First Division19thGlenn Walker
2006-2007Northern Premier League First Division22ndGlenn Walker
2007-2008Northern Premier League First Division South13thIan Street
2008-2009Northern Premier League First Division North19thPaul Moore
2009-2010Northern Premier League First Division North9thJoey Dunn
2010-2011Northern Premier League First Division North9thJoey Dunn
2011-2012Northern Premier League First Division North11thJoey Dunn
2012-2013Northern Premier League First Division North10thShaun Reid
2013-2014Northern Premier League First Division North

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!