Non-League Club Directory Logo

Welling United

Altrincham Club Crest image

After developing in the Eltham & District League from 1963 the Kent club joined The London Spartan League in 1971 and then competed in the Athenian League from 1977-1981.

Having formed the club, the Hobbins family provided the driving force with ex Charlton Athletic goalkeeper Syd Hobbins as Chairman with his sons Graham as Manager and Barrie looking after administration as Club Secretary.

In their first season in The Southern League Southern Division ‘The Wings’ finished eighth, qualifying to play in the Premier Division in 1982 following some league restructuring, and promptly produced a splendid third place finish.

One of the most memorable seasons was enjoyed in 1985-1986 when Welling United won the Southern League championship by twenty three points with only four points dropped from the last 74! Gary Abbott and John Bartley proved an outstanding pair of strikers with Nigel Ransom brilliant at the heart of the defence.

As the club settled down to enjoy a run of fourteen seasons in the Football Conference the 1989-1990 campaign proved the most successful with 65 points when finishing in sixth place, although the 1997-1998 also brought a
satisfying tenth place with 60 points.

The London Senior Cup was won by ‘The Wings”for the first time in 1989-1990 in their 64th match of the season having attracted a record attendance of 2621 for Darlington’s visit to clinch the championship.  They won it again in season 1991- 1992, a campaign in which Terry Robbins (29)  and Gary Abbott (19) scored 48 of the club’s 69 goals which earned them selection for England Semi-Professionals along with Mark Golley.

The long run in the Conference sadly came to an end in 2000 when ‘The Wings’ finished on equal points with Forest Green Rovers but were relegated on goal difference and returned to The Southern Premier Division. They challenged for promotion in 2000-2001 (4th), but remained until the change of league format at the end of the 2003-2004 season, when they qualified to be founder members of the Conference South and after nine consistent seasons, returned to Conference Premier as Champions.


Club Factfile

Park View Road Ground, Welling, Kent DA16 1SY
0208 301 1196
M25 to Dartford then A2 towards London. Take Bexleyheath/Blackfen/Sidcup,turn off (six miles along A2) then follow A207 signed welling. Ground is 1 mile From A2 on main road towards Welling High Street.

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1979-1980Athenian League5thGraham Hobbins
1980-1981Athenian League7thGraham Hobbins
1981-1982Southern S.Div18thGraham Hobbins
1982-1983Southern?Premier3rdGraham Hobbins
1983-1984Southern Premier12thGraham Hobbins
1984-1985Southern Premier6thGraham HobbinsF.A.Trophy 3rd Rd
1985-1986Southern Premier1stGraham HobbinsChampions
1986-1987Gola League20thGraham HobbinsF.A.Cup 1st Rd r
1987-1988GM?Vauxhall Conference19thGraham HobbinsF.A.Cup 2nd Rd
1988-1989GM Vauxhall Conference11thGraham HobbinsF.A.Cup 3rd Rd. F.A.Trophy 6th Rd
1989-1990GM Vauxhall Conference6thGraham HobbinsF.A.Cup 2nd Rd 3r
1990-1991GM?Vauxhall Conference11thNicky BrigdenF.A.Cup 1st Rd
1991-1992GM?Vauxhall Conference12thNicky BrigdenF.A.Cup 1st Rd
1992-1993GM Vauxhall Conference20thNicky Brigden
1993-1994GM Vauxhall Conference16thTerry Robbins
1994-1995GM Vauxhall Conference17thTerry Robbins
1995-1996GM Vauxhall Conference19thKevin Hales
1996-1997GM Vauxhall Conference18thKevin HalesF.A.Cup 1st Rd
1997-1998GM Vauxhall Conference10thKevin Hales
1998-1999Football Conference20thKevin HalesF.A.Cup 1st Rd
1999-2000 Nationwide Conference20thKevin HalesF.A.Cup 1st Rd
2000-2001Nationwide Conference4thTony Reynolds
2001-2002Southern Premier15thTony ReynoldsF.A.Cup 1st Rd. F.A.Trophy 4th Rd
2002-2003Southern Premier15thBill Williams
2003-2004Southern Premier9thPaul Parker
2004-2005Conference South16thPaul Parker
2005-2006Conference South9thLiam Daish/Adrian PennockF.A.Cup 1st Rd. F.A.Trophy 3rd Rd
2006-2007Conference South8thAdrian PennockF.A.Trophy 4th Rd
2007-2008Conference South16thNeil Smith/ Andy Ford
2008-2009Conference South7thAndy Ford
2009-2010Conference South9thAndy Ford
2010-2011Conference South6thJamie Day
2011-2012Conference South3rdJamie Day
 2012-2013Conference South1stJamie Day
2013-2014Conference Premier

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!