Non-League Club Directory Logo


Altrincham Club Crest image

After their formation in 1899, Weston-super Mare Football Club took the straightfoward route for any club in the West of England. Membership of the county league, which in their case was The Somerset League, was followed by a move up through The Western League until, as Champions with 110 goals and 98 points,‘The Seagulls’ certainly deserved the chance to test themselves in the senior competition.

After eleven seasons in The Southern League Division One, in which the club finished outside the top ten on three occasions, Weston certainly deserved promotion with manager Frank Gregan in charge of playing matters.

The timing was just right as the new Conference North and South were formed in 2004 and Weston-super Mare just qualified in 10th place in the Southern Premier League. However, it hasn’t been easy to establish safety in Conference South although, after eight tough campaigns, the next two produced middle of the table finishes and the club’s best finish of 7th was achieved in 2013.


Club Factfile

Woodspring Stadium, Winterstoke Road, Weston-super-Mare BS24 9AA
01934 621 618
Leave the M5 at Junction 21, take the dual carriageway A370 and continue straight until the 4th roundabout with ASDA on the right. Turn left into Winterstoke Road, bypassing a mini roundabout and continue for 1/2 mile. Woodspring Stadium is on the right.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Western League Premier Division7thDavid Stone
1979-1980Western League Premier Division3rdDavid Stone
1980-1981Western League Premier Division18thDavid Stone
1981-1982Western League Premier Division7thDavid Stone
1982-1983Western League Premier Division10thDavid Stone
1983-1984Western League Premier Division15thHarry Thomas
1984-1985Western League Premier Division19thHarry Thomas
1985-1986Western League Premier Division18thHarry Thomas
1986-1987Western League Premier Division13thHarry Thomas
1987-1988Western League Premier Division5thHarry Thomas
1988-1989Western League Premier Division7thHarry Thomas
1989-1990Western League Premier Division6thJohn Ellener
1990-1991Western League Premier Division5thJohn Ellener
 1991-1992Western League Premier Division1stJohn Ellener
1992-1993Southern League Midland Division11thJohn Ellener
1993-1994Southern League Midland Division3rdPeter Amos
1994-1995Southern League Southern Division6thPeter Amos
1995-1996Southern League Southern Division13thPeter Amos
1996-1997Southern League Southern Division4thLen Ashurst
1997-1998Southern League Southern Division19thLen Ashurst
1998-1999 Southern League Midland Division5thJohn Relish
1999-2000Southern League Western Division10thJohn Relish
2000-2001Southern League Western Division8thJohn Relish
2001-2002Southern League Western Division3rdFrank Gregan
2002-2003Southern League Western Division2ndFrank Gregan
2003-2004Southern League Premier Division10thFrank Gregan
2004-2005Conference South11thFrank Gregan
2005-2006Conference South14thFrank Gregan
2006-2007Conference South21stFrank Gregan
2007-2008Conference South20thTony Ricketts
2008-2009Conference South17thTony Ricketts
2009-2010Conference South21stAndy Gurney
2010-2011Conference South12thCraig Laird
2011-2012Conference South13thCraig Laird
2012-2013Conference South7thCraig Laird
2013-2014Conference South

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!