Non-League Club Directory Logo


Having developed in the Dorset and Western Leagues since their formation in 1890, Weymouth may have joined The Southern League too quickly in 1923 as they only lasted for five years.  However, ‘The Terras’ were back in 1949 and by the sixties had created a fine reputation as a leading non-league club, attracting good support to their atmospheric ground in the middle of the town.

The Southern League Championship was won in 1965 and 1966 and in 1979 Weymouth were accepted as one of the most attractive clubs in the new Football Alliance.  Sadly, after competing at the top of the league for the first four campaigns, Weymouth gradually drifted downwards and in the nineties spent their time shuttling between the Southern Premier and Division One.

When the new Conference South was launched in 2004, Weymouth qualified well with runners up spot in the Southern Premier Division and despite, what appeared to be constant changes in management and ownership, Garry Hill led the club into the Conference Premier as Champions of Conference South.

More ‘off field’ confusion led to a return to the Southern League Premier Division in 2010, where life hasn’t been easy. Regular improvements have been made for three seasons and the club’s excellent potential support will be expecting a return to life at the top of the Non-League world.


Club Factfile

Bob Lucas Stadium, Radipole Lane, Weymouth DT4 9XJ
01305 785 558
Approach Weymouth from Dorchester on the A354. Turn right at first roundabout onto Weymouth Way, continue to the next roundabout then turn right (signposted Football Ground). At the next roundabout take third exit into the ground.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Southern League Premier Division6thGraham Carr
1979-1980Alliance Premier2ndStuart Morgan
1980-1981Alliance Premier5thStuart Morgan
1981-1982Alliance Premier9thStuart Morgan
1982-1983Alliance Premier7thStuart Morgan
1983-1984Gola League15thBrian Godfrey
1984-1985Gola League16thBrian Godfrey
1985-1986Football Conference5thBrian Godfrey
1986-1987Football Conference14thStuart Morgan
1987-1988Football Conference19thStuart Morgan
1988-1989Football Conference17thStuart Morgan
1989-1990Southern League Premier Division17thPaul Compton
1990-1991Southern League Premier Division22ndLen Drake
1991-1992Southern League Division One South2ndLen Drake
1992-1993Southern League Premier Division21stLen Drake
1993-1994Southern League Division One South10thBill Coldwell
1994-1995Southern League Division One South8thBill Coldwell
1995-1996Southern League Division One South6thGraham Carr
1996-1997Southern League Southern Division7thGraham Carr
 1997-1998Southern League Southern Division1stMatthew McGovern/Fred Davies
1998-1999Southern League Premier Division14thFred Davies
1999-2000Southern League Premier Division10thFred Davies
2000-2001Southern League Premier Division 5thAndy Mason
2001-2002Southern League Premier Division11thAndy Mason
2002-2003Southern League Premier Division17thGeoff Butler
2003-2004Southern League Premier Division2ndSteve Claridge
2004-2005Conference South7thSteve Claridge
 2005-2006Conference South1stGarry Hill
2006-2007Football Conference 11thPaul Buckle
2007-2008Conference Premier 18thJason Tindall
2008-2009Conference Premier 23rdJohn Hollins
2009-2010Conference South22ndMatt Hale
2010-2011Southern League Premier Division18thGary Calder
2011-2012Southern League Premier Division17thBrendan King
2012-2013Southern League Premier Division9thBrendan King
2013-2014Southern League Premier Division

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!