Non-League Club Directory Logo

Whitby Town

Altrincham Club Crest image

Whitby Town were formed in 1926 and became a powerful member of the Northern League until they won The Championship and moved into The Northern Premier League in 1997. ‘The Seasiders ‘ had won the League once before in 1993 and had been runners-up five times.

The famous North Eastern club proved itself as an amateur club to be well respected and were F.A. Amateur Cup Finalists in 1964-65 and then enjoyed a Wembley triumph by winning the F.A.Vase in 1996-1997. Whitby Town have enjoyed Premier Division football for the last fifteen years but have not finished in the top ten since 2006.


Club Factfile

Turnbull Ground, Upgang Lane, Whitby, North Yorks YO21 3HZ
01947 604 847
On entering Whitby from both the A169 and A171 roads, take the first fork and follow signs for the “West Cliff”. Then turn left at the Spa Shop and Garage, along Love Lane to junction of the A174. Turn right and the ground is 600 yards on the left.

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Northern League14thK.Storey
1979-1980Northern League11thS.Smelt
1980-1981Northern League11thTony Lee
1981-1982Northern League2ndTony Lee
1982-1983Northern League2ndTony Lee
1983-1984Northern League3rdTony Lee
1984-1985Northern League7thTony Lee
1985-1986Northern League16thDavid Harvey
1986-1987Northern League11thDavid Harvey
1987-1988Northern League13thPeter Creamer
1988-1989Northern League12thPeter Creamer
1989-1990Northern League12thHenry Wilson
1990-1991Northern League6thRobert Scaife Jnr.
1991-1992Northern League3rdRobert Scaife Jnr.
 1992-1993Northern League1stRobert Scaife Jnr.
1993-1994Northern League4thRobert Scaife Jnr.
1994-1995Northern League3rdRobert Scaife Jnr.
1995-1996Northern League5thRobert Scaife Jnr./Harry Dunn
 1996-1997Northern League1stHarry Dunn
 1997-1998Northern Premier League Division One1stHarry Dunn
1998-1999Northern Premier League Premier Division7thHarry Dunn
1999-2000Northern Premier League Premier Division12thHarry Dunn
2000-2001Northern Premier League Premier Division17thHarry Dunn
2001-2002Northern Premier League Premier Division15thHarry Dunn
2002-2003Northern Premier League Premier Division10thHarry Dunn
2003-2004Northern Premier League Premier Division15thHarry Dunn
2004-2005Northern Premier League Premier Division4thDavid Logan
2005-2006Northern Premier League Premier Division6thDavid Logan
2006-2007Northern Premier League Premier Division11thDavid Logan
2007-2008Northern Premier League Premier Division12thLee Nogan
2008-2009Northern Premier League Premier Division19thGraham Clark
2009-2010Northern Premier League Premier Division14thHarry Dunn
2010-2011Northern Premier League Premier Division16thHarry Dunn
2011-2012Northern Premier League Premier Division17thTommy Cassidy
2012-2013Northern Premier League Premier Division13thDarren Williams
2013-2014Northern Premier League Premier Division

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!