Non-League Club Directory Logo

Whitley Bay

Currently Playing In:

Northern League Division One


A famous North Eastern club which was formed in 1897 began its competitive life in The Tyneside League in 1909. The club tried changes across to The Northern Alliance in 1950 and The North Eastern League in 1955, before settling in The Northern League in 1958.

Originally finding life difficult in the well established hot bed for the top North Eastern amateur clubs, an improvement coincided with the introduction of a second Northern league Division and from 1986 onwards ‘The Bay’s’ fortunes changed.

Manager Bobby Graham was certainly an inspiration, and after acceptance into The Northern Premier League Division One in 1991, the club relished the challenge and gained promotion to The Premier division after just three seasons.

Life and traveling at this higher level proved a severe challenge and after four seasons Whitley Bay dropped back to Division One where they stayed until relegated again in 2000.

It wasn’t all bad news however, as the club immediately took advantage of The FA Vase and lifted spirits throughout the area with a wonderful victory in the final of the competition at Villa Park.

So it wasn’t surprising that, after winning the Northern League championship in 2007, the club did not return to The Northern Premier League, and Whitley Bay have since created FA Vase history with three superb consecutive Wembley Final victories from 2009-2011.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Whitley Bay Athletic 1950-1958
Hillheads Park, Rink Way, Whitley Bay NW 25 8HR
0191 291 3637
Record Attendance:
7,301 v Hendon FA Amateur Cup 1965
Most Recent Senior Honour:
FA Vase Winners 2010-2011

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Northern League14thM.Clifford
1978-1979Northern League15thM.Clifford
1979-1980Northern League20thM.Clifford
1980-1981Northern League19thM.Clifford
1981-1982Northern League19thM.Clifford
1982-1983Northern League Division One13thM.Clifford
1983-1984Northern League Division One9thJ.Connelly
1984-1985Northern League Division One13thJ.Connelly
1985-1986Northern League Division One17thP.Flaherty
1986-1987Northern League Division One5thB.Dunn
1987-1988Northern League Division One4thBobby Graham
1988-1989Northern Premier League Division One5thBobby Graham
1989-1990Northern Premier League Division One4thBobby Graham
 1990-1991Northern Premier League Division One1stBobby Graham
1991-1992Northern Premier League Premier Division17thBobby Graham
1992-1993Northern Premier League Premier Division17thBobby Graham
1993-1994Northern Premier League Premier Division11thBobby Graham
1994-1995Northern Premier League Premier Division21stBobby Graham
1995-1996Northern Premier League Division One8thBobby Graham
1996-1997Northern Premier League Division One12thKen Parker
1997-1998Northern Premier League Division One13thPatrick Lowery
1998-1999Northern Premier League Division One19thPatrick Lowery
1999-2000Northern Premier League Division One22ndDave Styles
2000-2001Northern League Division One11thDave Styles
2001-2002Northern League Division One5thAndy Gowans
2002-2003Northern League Division One10thAndy Gowans
2003-2004Northern League Division One10thIan Chandler
2004-2005Northern League Division One5thIan Chandler
2005-2006Northern League Division One10thIan Chandler
 2006-2007Northern League Division One1stIan Chandler
2007-2008Northern League Division One3rdIan Chandler
2008-2009Northern League Division One3rdIan Chandler
2009-2010Northern League Division One3rdIan Chandler
2010-2011Northern League Division One3rdIan Chandler
2011-2012Northern League Division One6th
2012-2013Northern League Division One3rd
2013-2014Northern League Division One

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!