Non-League Club Directory Logo

Wisbech Town

Currently Playing In:

Eastern Counties League Premier Division


A club that was founded in 1920 and developed through the East Midland competitions,
started in The Peterborough & District League, before joining The United Counties League in 1935 as a semi-professional club.

After the second world war, the club earned the reputation as exciting cup fighters as members of The Eastern Counties League in 1950 for two seasons and then moving on to the Midland League.

In 1970 a return to The Eastern Counties League proved to be a more permanent decision and ‘The Fenmen’ were consistently challenging for honours, culminating in promotion to The Southern League Eastern Division One as runners up.

After five tough campaigns in which the club was not helped by constant changing of managers,Wisbech were relegated back to The Eastern Premier Division in 2002. Now under the managerial leadership of Steve Appleby, the club is again challenging at the top of the table, with improving league positions for five years leading to the runners-up spot in 2013.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
THe Fenland Stadium, Lynn Road, Wisbech PE14 7AM
01945 581 511
Record Attendance:
8044 v Peterborough United Midland League 1957
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Eastern Counties League Cup 2010-2011

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Eastern Counties League5thD.McCullum
1978-1979Eastern Counties League9thD.McCullum
1979-1980Eastern Counties League3rdD.McCullum
1980-1981Eastern Counties League11thBarry Malpas/Bill Feary
1981-1982Eastern Counties League5thB.Wilson
1982-1983Eastern Counties League9thB.Wilson
1983-1984Eastern Counties League2ndR.McManus
1984-1985Eastern Counties League5thR.McManus
1985-1986Eastern Counties League9thR.McManus
1986-1987Eastern Counties League11thR.McManus
1987-1988Eastern Counties League6thAlan Day
1988-1989Eastern Counties League3rdP.Ward
1989-1990Eastern Counties League10thP.Ward
 1990-1991Eastern Counties League1stD.Eldred
1991-1992Eastern Counties League5thD.Eldred
1992-1993Eastern Counties League2ndJ.Gallagher/K.Rudd
1993-1994Eastern Counties League6thJ.Gallagher/K.Rudd
1994-1995Eastern Counties League3rdJ.Gallagher/K.Rudd
1995-1996Eastern Counties League11thJ.Gallagher/K.Rudd
1996-1997Eastern Counties League2ndIan Jones
1997-1998Southern League Midland Division5thIan Jones
1998-1999Southern League Midland Division14thGary Childs
1999-2000Southern League Eastern Division14thDarren Bloodworth
2000-2001Southern League Eastern Division18thIan Stringfellow
2001-2002Southern League Eastern Division22ndTerry Back/Pat Clarke
2002-2003Eastern League Premier Division6thIan Benjamin
2003-2004Eastern League Premier Division14thIan Benjamin
2004-2005Eastern League Premier Division16thJackie Gallagher/Roy McManus
2005-2006Eastern League Premier Division4thDick Creasey
2006-2007Eastern League Premier Division11thDick Creasey
2007-2008Eastern League Premier Division12thIan Jones /Mel Matless
2008-2009Eastern League Premier Division16thSteve Taylor
2009-2010Eastern League Premier Division11thGary Setchell
2010-2011Eastern League Premier Division4thSteve Appleby
2011-2012Eastern League Premier Division4thSteve Appleby
2012-2013Eastern League Premier Division2ndSteve Appleby
2013-2014Eastern League Premier Division2ndSteve Appleby, Paul Cousins + Scott JohnsonPaul Cousins+Scott Johnson

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!