Non-League Club Directory Logo

Witton Albion

Currently Playing In:

Northern Premier League Premier Division


The first game played by Witton Albion Football Club was in 1887, but the club representing a district in the cheshire town of Northwich, played its first competitive football in the Northwich & District League during season 1912-1913.

As the club developed, it moved through the Crewe & District and Cheshire Leagues, The Combination and then, in 1904-1905, The Manchester League. In 1912 another move took Witton Albion into The Lancashire Combination in which they won The Second Division championship in their second campaign.

After the first world war, Witton became founder members of The Cheshire County League, but it wasn’t until after the second world war that Albion developed into one of the best non-league clubs in the North of England. The club won three championships including a league and cup double in 1953-1954 and reaching the FA Cup First Round Proper on four occasions and the Second Round Twice before the end of ‘the fifties’

Qualification for the Northern Premier League was not achieved when it was formed in 1968, but after ten frustrating years, promotion was eventually gained as Cheshire League runners-up in 1979 and Albion proved a point the following season by finishing just one point behind champions Mossley.

In 1990 the club moved into a smart new home at Wincham Park and the very next season the club’s ambitions were proved by winning the Northern Premier League championship by sixteen points and proudly moved into the Conference.

The 1991-1992 season will be remembered for Witton Albion’s exciting FA Trophy run which took them to Wembley for a final against Conference Champions Colchester United.
But the third season at the top level proved to be their last and the slide was to prove difficult to halt as financial pressures affected everyone at the club.

Since their Conference seasons, Witton Albion have roughly shared their time between Division One and The Premier Division, where they are re-establishing themselves after successful play-offs in 2012 and an encouraging 4th place in 2013


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Help for Heroes Stadium, Wincham Park, Chappel Street, Wincham, CW9 6DA
01606 43008
Record Attendance:
3940 v Kidderminster Harriers FA Trophy Semi-Final 1991

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Cheshire County League2ndBrian Booth
1979-1980Northern Premier League2ndBrian Booth
1980-1981Northern Premier League7thBrian Booth
1981-1982Northern Premier League3rdRuss Perkins
1982-1983Northern Premier League11thRuss Perkins
1983-1984Northern Premier League13thRuss Perkins
1984-1985Northern Premier League3rdLes Sutton
1985-1986Northern Premier League11thLes Sutton
1986-1987Northern Premier League14thJohn Rogers
1987-1988Northern Premier League11thStan Allen
1988-1989Northern Premier League3rdStan Allen
1989-1990Northern Premier League3rdStan Allen
 1990-1991Northern Premier League1stStan Allen
1991-1992GM Vauxhall Conference10th
1992-1993GM Vauxhall Conference13th
1993-1994GM Vauxhall Conference22ndMike Mackenzie
1994-1995Northern Premier League Premier Division10thBrian Grifiths
1995-1996Northern Premier League Premier Division13thRay Ranson
1996-1997Northern Premier League Premier Division22ndRay Ranson
1997-1998Northern Premier League Division One7thKevin Tully
1998-1999Northern Premier League Division One8thKevin Tully
1999-2000Northern Premier League Division One3rdKevin Tully
2000-2001Northern Premier League Division One7thNigel Gleghorn
2001-2002Northern Premier League Division One10thEddie Bishop
2002-2003Northern Premier League Division One7thBenny Phillips
2003-2004Northern Premier League Division One5thBenny Phillips
2004-2005Northern Premier League Premier Division8thJohn Davison
2005-2006Northern Premier League Premier Division8thGary Finley
2006-2007Northern Premier League Premier Division3rdJim Vince
2007-2008Northern Premier League Premier Division2ndJim Vince
2008-2009Northern Premier League Premier Division20thNigel Deeley
2009-2010Northern Premier League Division One South7thGary Finley
2010-2011Northern Premier League Division One North10thPaul Ogden
2011-2012Northern Premier League Division One North3rdBrian Pritchard
2012-2013Northern Premier League Premier Division4thBrian Pritchard
2013-2014Northern Premier League Premier Division16thBrian Pritchard

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!