Non-League Club Directory Logo


Altrincham Club Crest image

Woking are one of the few clubs who remained in just one league before gaining admission to the modern top levels of non-league football. They were proud members of The Isthmian League, with whom they won The FA Amateur Cup and provided many amateur internationals. But after a shaky spell in the eighties, ’The Cards’ fought their way back to The Premier Division in 1990 and won the Championship and promotion to the Conference two years later.

With legendary manager Geoff Chapple in charge, Woking won three FA Trophy Finals at Wembley and enjoyed memorable FA Cup runs, which included a 4-2 triumph at West Bromwich Albion, who were in the Football League’s second tier at the time.

By winning The Isthmian League title in 1992 , Woking moved up to enjoy a wonderful spell in The Conference, highlighted by two finishes as runners up in 1995 and 1996. However form became unsettled and after a difficult four years, Woking were relegated, but the famous Surrey club returned to the top level as Conference South champions in 2012.


Club Factfile

Kingfield Stadium, Kingfield Road, Woking, Surrey GU22 9AA
01483 772 470
Exit M25 Junction 10 and follow A3 towards Guildford. Leave at next junction onto B2215 through Ripley and join A247 to Woking. Alternatively exit M25 junction 11 and follow A320 to Woking Town Centre. The ground is on the outskirts of Woking opposite the Leisure Centre.

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Isthmian League Premier7thFred Callaghan
1979-1980Isthmian League Premier9thFred Callaghan
1980-1981Isthmian League Premier22ndBilly Miller
1981-1982Isthmian League Premier20thBrian Caterer
1982-1983Isthmian League Premier21stDave Holloway
1983-1984Isthmian League Division One13thDave Holloway
1984-1985Isthmian League Division One19thBill Dodgin
1985-1986Isthmian League Division Two South3rdGeoff Chapple
 1986-1987Isthmian League Division Two South1stGeoff Chapple
1987-1988Isthmian League Division One3rdGeoff Chapple
1988-1989Isthmian League Division One3rdGeoff Chapple
1989-1990Isthmian League Division One2ndGeoff Chapple
1990-1991Isthmian League Premier4thGeoff Chapple
 1991-1992Isthmian League Premier1stGeoff Chapple
1992-1993Football Conference8thGeoff Chapple
1993-1994Football Conference3rdGeoff Chapple
1994-1995Football Conference2ndGeoff Chapple
1995-1996Football Conference2ndGeoff Chapple
1996-1997Football Conference5thGeoff Chapple
1997-1998Football Conference3rdJohn McGovern
1998-1999Football Conference9thColin Lippiatt
1999-2000Football Conference14thBrian McDermott
2000-2001Football Conference14thColin Lippiatt
2001-2002Football Conference19thColin Lippiatt
2002-2003Football Conference19thGeoff Chapple
2003-2004Football Conference9thGlenn Cockerill
2004-2005Football Conference8thGlenn Cockerill
2005-2006Football Conference11thGlenn Cockerill
2006-2007Conference Premier15thFrank Gray
2007-2008Conference Premier17thFrank Gray/Kim Grant
2008-2009Conference Premier21stKim Grant/G.Baker
2009-2010Conference South5thGraham Baker
2010-2011Conference South5thGraham Baker
 2011-2012Conference South1stGary Hill
2012-2013Conference12thGary Hill
2013-2014Conference9thGary Hill

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!