Non-League Club Directory Logo

Wokingham and Emmbrook

In 2004, Emmbrook Sports, a little Reading club formed in 1989 and competing in the Reading League, merged with the comparatively well established non-league club Wokingham, who had achieved the runners up place in The Isthmian League Premier Division in 1990. But financial problems had dragged the club down to the third level of Isthmian football and eventually a collapse.

Wokingham had enjoyed an impressive run as an Isthmian Premier Division club for thirteen years under the inspirational leadership of Roy Merryweather, having won promotion as Division One champions in 1982, so a loyal band of supporters were determined to ensure serious competitive football remained in the area.

The Hellenic League offered a place for the new club in their Division One East, and after the return of Wayne Wanklyn for a second spell as manager, as runners-up in 2009-2010
promotion to the Hellenic League was celebrated. So far, each Premier Division season has provided an improved campaign for ‘The Satsumas’ and their supporters are hoping their club can soon challenge for a return to the Isthmian League.


Club Factfile


Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1977-1978Isthmian League Division One7thRoy Merryweather
1978-1979Isthmian League Division One13thRoy Merryweather
1979-1980 Isthmian League Division One13thRoy Merryweather
1980-1981Isthmian League Division One8thRoy Merryweather
 1981-1982Isthmian League Division One1stRoy Merryweather
1982-1983Isthmian League Premier Division17thRoy Merryweather
1983-1984Isthmian League Premier Division8thRoy Merryweather
1984-1985Isthmian League Premier Division4thRoy Merryweather
1985-1986Isthmian League Premier Division10thRoy Merryweather
1986-1987Isthmian League Premier Division17thRoy Merryweather
1987-1988Isthmian League Premier Division5thRoy Merryweather
1988-1989Isthmian League Premier Division11thRoy Merryweather
1989-1990Isthmian League Premier Division2ndRoy Merryweather
1990-1991Isthmian League Premier Division11thRoy Merryweather
1991-1992Isthmian League Premier Division5thRoy Merryweather
1992-1993Isthmian League Premier Division16thRoy Merryweather
1993-1994Isthmian League Premier Division19thRoy Merryweather
1994-1995Isthmian League Premier Division22ndRoy Merryweather
1995-1996Isthmian League Division One11thDerek Cottrell & Wayne Wanklyn
1996-1997Isthmian League Division One14thDerek Cottrell & Wayne Wanklyn
1997-1998Isthmian League Division One20thDerek Cottrell & Wayne Wanklyn
1998-1999Isthmian League Division Two18thSimon Pentland
1999-2000Isthmian League Division Two12thSteve Mellor
2000-2001Isthmian League Division Two22ndSteve Mellor
2001-2002Isthmian League Division Three15thSteve Mellor
2002-2003Isthmian League Division Two13thJohn Osborne
2003-2004Isthmian League Division Two12thPaul Colley
As Wokingham & Emmbrook
2004-2005Hellenic League Division One East11thGlen Duggleby
2005-2006Hellenic League Division One East3rdTony Calvert
2006-2007Hellenic League Division One East8thJez Lynch
2007-2008Hellenic League Division One East12thJez Lynch
2008-2009Hellenic League Division One East4thWayne Wanklyn
2009-2010Hellenic League Division One East2ndWayne Wanklyn
2010-2011Hellenic League Premier Division11thWayne Wanklyn
2011-2012Hellenic League Premier Division10thRoger Herridge
2012-2013Hellenic League Premier Division8thRoger Herridge
2013-2014Hellenic League Premier Division

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!