Non-League Club Directory Logo

Worcester City

Altrincham Club Crest image

Worcester City were formed in 1902 and immediately joined The West Midlands League, where they competed on a local level until accepted by The Southern League in 1938. The next move up the non-league pyramid came in 1978-1979. City won the Southern League Championship under the guidance of Manager Nobby Clark in the very year that the clubs from The Southern and Northern Premier Divisions formed the new Football Alliance competition.

After six seasons at the highest non-league level, Worcester City returned to The Southern League where they remained for nineteen seasons in which a top ten finish was only missed five times. In the early eighties City reached the last eight in the FA Trophy twice and reached the Third Round, Second Round and First Round of the FA Cup.

Because of their geographical position Worcester City have competed in both North and South Divisions of the Conference with regular mid table finishes. Sadly they have left their famous St Georges Road ground and hopefully the club will be able to retain their league standing while experiencing a difficult period.


Club Factfile

St George’s Lane, Barbourne, Worcester WR1 1QT
01905 23003
Leave the M5 at Junction 6 (Worcester North) and take the A449 dual-carriageway towards Kidderminster. At the first island take the 2nd exit towards Worcester. After around 3 miles, at traffic lights/T-junction turn right towards Worcester City Centre. Take the 3rd turning on the left - St. George's Lane North. Ground on the left.

Image Gallery

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

 1978-1979Southern League Premier Division1stNobby Clark
1979-1980Alliance Premier League3rdNobby Clark
1980-1981Alliance Premier League12thNobby Clark
1981-1982Alliance Premier League4thNobby Clark
1982-1983Alliance Premier League17thNobby Clark
1983-1984Alliance Premier League8thNobby Clark
1984-1985Alliance Premier League20thBobby Shinton
1985-1986Southern League Premier Division5thIan Cooper
1986-1987Southern League Premier Division10thJohn Jones
1987-1988Southern League Premier Division5thGeorge Rooney
1988-1989Southern League Premier Division4thGeorge Rooney
1989-1990Southern League Premier Division14thDoug Griffiths
1990-1991Southern League Premier Division6thAlly Robertson
1991-1992Southern League Premier Division16thPhil Lines
1992-1993Southern League Premier Division17thMartyn Bennett
1993-1994Southern League Premier Division15thGeorge Rooney
1994-1995Southern League Premier Division10thGeorge Rooney
1995-1996Southern League Premier Division6thGeorge Rooney
1996-1997Southern League Premier Division10thGeorge Rooney
1997-1998Southern League Premier Division7thGeorge Rooney
1998-1999Southern League Premier Division7thGeorge Rooney
1999-2000Southern League Premier Division15thGraham Allner
2000-2001Southern League Premier Division8thJohn Barton
2001-2002Southern League Premier Division8thJohn Barton
2002-2003Southern League Premier Division6thJohn Barton
2003-2004Southern League Premier Division5thJohn Barton
2004-2005Conference North7thJohn Barton
2005-2006Conference North8thAndy Preece
2006-2007Conference North9thAndy Preece
2007-2008Conference North12thAndy Preece
2008-2009Conference South16thRichard Dryden
2009-2010Conference South20thRichard Dryden
2010-2011Conference North16thCarl Heeley
2011-2012Conference North7thCarl Heeley
2012-2013Conference North15thCarl Heeley
2013-2014Conference North

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!