Non-League Club Directory Logo

Worthing FC

After their formation in 1886, The Sussex club spent their early competitive years in local county competitions with three spells in The West Sussex League, and periods in The Brighton & Hove & District League and The Sussex County League. Then, after the break caused by the Second World War, the club joined The Corinthian League, a home counties competition.

The Athenian League was considered a step up the ladder and from 1963 to 1977 ‘The Rebels‘ competed in the famous competition, until it became clear the Isthmian League was expanding as the senior amateur football league in the South of England.

Coinciding with the introduction of our Non-League Annual, Worthing began their unfinished membership of the Isthmian League in 1977. Since then they have experienced the normal ups and downs, but were thrilled by a very special period under Barry Lloyd’s managerial leadership from 1981 to 1985, when promotion from Division Two to runners-up in the Premier Division was achieved in three glorious seasons.

Since then, Worthing have won two shorts spells at The Premier level, but generally have competed well with five top ten finishes in the last six campaigns as a Division One club.


Club Factfile

Woodside Road, Worthing, West Sussex BN14 7HQ
01903 239 575
A24 or A27 to Grove Lodge roundabout. A24 (Town Centre exit) and right into South Farm Road. Over five roundabouts take last on right (Pavilion Road) before level crossing. Woodside Road on right, ground on left. 1/2 mile from BR.

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1978-1979Isthmian League Division Two13thG.Harding
1979-1980Isthmian League Division Two9thD.Cooke
1980-1981Isthmian League Division Two5thD.Cooke
 1981-1982Isthmian League Division Two1stBarry Lloyd
 1982-1983Isthmian League Division One1stBarry Lloyd
1983-1984Isthmian League Premier Division2ndBarry Lloyd
1984-1985Isthmian League Premier Division2ndBarry Lloyd
1985-1986Isthmian League Premier Division14thBarry Lloyd
1986-1987Isthmian League Premier Division21stKeith Rowley
1987-1988Isthmian League Division One13thA.Pook
1988-1989Isthmian League Division One18thJ.Rains
1989-1990Isthmian League Division One13thGerry Offen
1990-1991Isthmian League Division One22ndGerry Offen
1991-1992Isthmian League Division Two12thGerry Armstrong
 1992-1993Isthmian League Division Two1stGerry Armstrong
1993-1994Isthmian League Division One8thGerry Armstrong
1994-1995Isthmian League Division One2ndJohn Robson
1995-1996Isthmian League Premier Division22ndJohn Robson
1996-1997Isthmian League Division One16thMarc Falco
1997-1998Isthmian League Division One12thBrian Donnelly
1998-1999Isthmian League Division One12thBrian Donnelly
1999-2000Isthmian League Division One5thBrian Donnelly
2000-2001Isthmian League Division One12thBrian Donnelly
2001-2002Isthmian League Division One15thBrian Donnelly
2002-2003Isthmian League Division One South12thBarry Lloyd
2003-2004Isthmian League Division One South2ndBarry Lloyd
2004-2005Isthmian League Premier Division10thAlan Pook
2005-2006Isthmian League Premier Division8thA.Pook & Danny Bloor
2006-2007Isthmian League Premier Division20thA.Pook & Danny Bloor
2007-2008Isthmian League Division One South5thA.Pook & Danny Bloor
2008-2009Isthmian League Division One South5thA.Pook & Danny Bloor
2009-2010Isthmian League Division One South3rdSimon Colbran
2010-2011Isthmian League Division One South14thChris White
2011-2012Isthmian League Division One South7thChris White
2012-2013Isthmian League Division One South10thChris White
2013-2014Isthmian League Division One South14thAdam Hinshelwood

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!