Non-League Club Directory Logo

Yate Town

Currently Playing In:

Southern League Division One South West


Having been formed when football resumed after the second world war, Yate YMCA competed in The Bristol Premier Combination and the Gloucestershire County League until, in 1983, they then joined The Hellenic League having changed their name to Yate Town in 1970.

Two seasons challenging at the top of Division One brought promotion to The Hellenic Premier level and three seasons later, Peter Jackson, a long serving manager, built a side to earn promotion to The Southern League as Hellenic Champions.

After twelve seasons in the Regional divisions of the Southern League ‘The Bluebirds’  dropped back into The Hellenic League, but the introduction of Richard Thompson as manager brought a steady improvement, and after three seasons in the top three of the Hellenic League, Yate Town gained promotion. After just two campaigns, they moved up the Southern Premier Division in 2005 where they enjoyed four seasons before dropping back to the regional first division.


Club Factfile

Previous Name(s):
Yate YMCA 1946-1970
Lodge Road, Yate, Bristol BS37 7LE
01454 228 103
Record Attendance:
2000 for Bristol Rovers v Bristol Rovers Past XI Vaughan Jones Testimonial match.
Most Recent Senior Honour:
Gloucestershire Senior Cup 2005-2006

Club History

Click on a year to see photos, articles and more details about the season.

1979-1980Gloucestershire County League5th
1980-1981Gloucestershire County League11th
1981-1982Gloucestershire County League12th
1982-1983Gloucestershire County League13th
1983-1984Hellenic League Division One3rd
1984-1985Hellenic League Division One2ndPeter Jackson
1985-1986Hellenic League Premier Division8thPeter Jackson
1986-1987Hellenic League Premier Division10thPeter Jackson
 1987-1988Hellenic League Premier Division1stPeter Jackson
1988-1989Southern League Southern Division13thPeter Jackson
1989-1990Southern League Southern Division6thPeter Jackson
1990-1991Southern League Southern Division6thPeter Jackson
1991-1992Southern League Midland Division11thPeter Jackson
1992-1993Southern League Midland Division18thPeter Jackson
1993-1994Southern League Midland Division21stPeter Jackson
1994-1995Southern League Southern Division16thPeter Jackson
1995-1996Southern League Southern Division10thIan Alexander
1996-1997Southern League Southern Division19thIan Alexander
1997-1998Southern League Southern Division22ndJohn Freeguard
1998-1999Southern League Southern Division20thJohn Freeguard
1999-2000Southern League WesternDivision22ndMartin Durnell
2000-2001Hellenic League Premier Division3rdRichard Thompson & Gary Hewlett
2001-2002Hellenic League Premier Division3rdRichard Thompson & Gary Hewlett
2002-2003Hellenic League Premier Division2ndRichard Thompson
2003-2004Southern League Western Division16thRichard Thompson
2004-2005Southern League Division One West2ndRichard Thompson
2005-2006Southern League Premier Division6thRichard Thompson
2006-2007Southern League Premier Division14thRichard Thompson
2007-2008Southern League Premier Division10thRichard Thompson
2008-2009Southern League Premier Division21stRichard Thompson
2009-2010Southern League Division One SW13thDave Mogg
2010-2011Southern League Division One SW14thDave Mogg
2011-2012Southern League Division One SW13thRobbie Cousins
2012-2013Southern League Division One SW6thRobbie Cousins
2013-2014Southern League Division One SW9thRobbie Cousins

Best Year icon = Best Year


We Want to Hear From You!

Tell us your stories and send us photos through our FaceBook page. Click here to join us.


From around the web

Like the site?

The new edition of the Directory contains even more!